24
Sep
14

Recognizing Yourself at Home, in Detail

Blog September 24, 2014

Grossery

Who was it said, “G@d is in the details?”

 14th st EAR

Oh, yeah. Mies van der Rohe. I thought so but I had to Google to confirm.

canal eyes

There’re a lot of dangling thoughts crowding round my head lately and correctly attributing quotes is one of the more important details of my work. And yes, there’re is a word, a contraction, in my personal dictionary.

Boro Hall

Just like Shakespeare used ta’en, instead of taken, although it’s not a contraction.

FDR Kahn

He, Mies, was also noted to have said something like, “Less is more.” Google says that was originally Robert Browning. Who knew?

help x3

Ah, those pesky details.

ivy and blue

Rather than go on and on and get all snarky and critical about the problems I personally have with other people’s distinctly incorrect details I’ll show some examples.

pink

You can judge for yourselves.

tiles mosaic

Design is an iterative process.

prayhard

What that means for me personally is that we design, test, analyze, test again, re-design, redraw, reconfigure, test, analyze, re-iterate, re-design, analyze, test, and redraw until we get the details just right. It’s no good if the place looks gorgeous and the light switch is hidden behind the door.

red blue

Details.

grand door, fire plug

Pesky details.

2 Responses to “Recognizing Yourself at Home, in Detail”


  1. October 3, 2014 at 3:23 am

    The Devil is in the detail. The idiom “the devil is in the detail” refers to a catch or mysterious element hidden in the details. Hope you slept well on the plane,, 😉

  2. October 3, 2014 at 3:24 am

    Reblogged this on Ooo So Santa Fe and commented:
    My dear friend KC…. always has such a eye for details.


Leave a Reply

KC Weakley

It's me, doing what I love, designing for you.

Blog Stats

  • 6,274 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,798 other followers

Follow KC's Wanderings on WordPress.com

KC Weakley

kcweakley

kcweakley

I'm an interior designer living and working in New York City. I travel often. I get out a lot, to the theater, the museums, the galleries, and the street. I keep my eyes open and my heart singing. Enjoy.

View Full Profile →

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Twitter

#twinkle #kentcurtisdesignstudio

Paint and Color

Artist and color consultant Barbara Mayfield on making one's world sing with color.

Ooo So Santa Fe

Style..People.. Food.. of Santa Fe

One Drawing Daily

I've been drawing and painting and learning (almost) every day since the 9th September 2014

Küster Dental Weblog

your practice made perfect

KC's Wanderings

I've succumbed to peer pressure and started a blog!

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

MuseBoxx

Space to Create

SEA BY THE CITY

the unofficial blog of long beach, ny

Sandra Aleksov

visual artist

lauraagudelo272

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

N.A:TUR.ART

by Katja Wörl

300 stories

A continuing mission to produce flash fiction stories in 300 words (or less)

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

Regular New

Art, Architecture, Design, Food, and all things Oceanic

debbie bayer blog

beginning again

hovercraftdoggy

A curated glimpse into a world of infinite beauty and creativity.

Page to Stage

How to get ideas out of your head and in front of an audience

